CIU111 Week 2: How Are We The Same?

Recently during one of my lectures for my class, I discovered that no matter what discipline those of us in the creative industries have chosen, it seems that we all share similar work life traits. It doesn’t matter if you’re in Games, Audio, Film, Graphic Design or like myself, Animation, we all seem to have the same advantages and disadvantages of working in media. From the outside world we might come across as being creative yet diverse individuals who act in informal ways and proceed to working long and sometimes unusual hours, and though these are valid points, from the inside it’s still a lot deeper than that. We’re determined and passionate about what we do, we strive to succeed, despite the repercussions that it might cost us to get to the finish line. We’re quirky and sometimes elaborate, like being creative or ingenuity in creating something different. But in the end, we all just love what we do for a living.

However, despite being ambitious, the quality standards that all creative industries are after is staggering. Yes, we are people who are willing to work long hours to get the job done, but we still risk the potential of doing so with little pay. Not only this, we’re also left with the prospect of having ‘No Future’, which in all honesty, is absolutely terrifying to me. Despite wanting to be a concept artist, I’m still left wondering if that’s what I still want to be doing ten years from now, or even if I’ll have any form of a proper career in animation. Like everyone, I’m left in the chilling darkness of uncertainty.

Currently I’m working two jobs in retail, one as an Assistant Manager and the other as a casual, but prospective assistant manager. In my assistant managers role, it’s expected of me to work long, strenuous hours. Even some of the overtime is not recognised as “paid work”. Since I work for a small business as well, I’m receiving the absolute minimum pay for someone of my age and position. From this class, I’ve discovered that my current working conditions and what I aspire to being doing in animation won’t be all that different. But one major difference? I will love what I’ll be doing.

In order to carve your own way into the Creative Media Industry, you will have to be willing to sacrifice your time, and push yourself to work at the absolute best of your abilities in order to hold your own. Without this drive, it will be increasingly difficult to make a career in this industry. Not only this, you have to be able to adapt to the changing times. Like with learning, it’s important that you stay up to date with current techniques of animation and the technology that follows suit. The time you dedicate to your work will also have an impact on your future aspirations. The more time you’re willing to dedicate to finishing a project, the higher quality it will be. If your efforts come across to your employers, or even future employers for that matter, it will help to persuade them of your value and character as a hardworking individual.

Coming into this course, I knew that I would have to be committed and 100% dedicated to ensuring that I’m on the right path to success. Despite knowing that it would be challenging to place my mark upon the industry, I still found it quite daunting to have read this in my lectures. Knowing the hurdles and obstacles that I’ll have to overcome. But that’s the thing, I will overcome them. I’m ready to venture out into animation, and begin laying down the foundations of what I hope will be a successful and prosperous career. I already know what it means to sacrifice, I’ve been doing in for the last three years. I know what it means to work long hours, most of which won’t be recognised, and they pay? It won’t matter how much or little I earn. I want to be doing something I have a passion for. I want to inspire others in what I can create. To quote famous cartoonist:

“Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.”
– Scott Adams

We all stumble in our lives and make mistakes. It’s what we do as humans. It’s how we learn to keep pushing ourselves. I’ve made my mistakes, especially with my past career choices. But I know, coming into this Bachelor of Animation, that I’ve made the right decision.

Adams, S. (2015). Good Reads. Retrieved March 17 2015, from http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/11609-creativity-is-allowing-yourself-to-make-mistakes-art-is-knowing

Leave a Reply

